Posted by: Lizabeta | February 29, 2008

I’ve been watching you…

Rodney Atkins sings a song… I think its called I’ve been Watching You

Drivin’ through town just my boy and me
With a “Happy Meal” in his booster seat
Knowin’ that he couldn’t have the toy ‘til his nuggets were gone.
A green traffic light turned straight to red
I hit my brakes and mumbled under my breath.
His fries went a flyin’, and his orange drink covered his lap
Well, then my four year old said a four letter word
It started with “S” and I was concerned
So I said, “Son, now where’d you learn to talk like that?”

Chorus:
He said, I’ve been watching you, dad ain’t that cool?
I’m your buckaroo, I wanna be like you.
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are.
We got cowboy boots and camo pants
Yeah, we’re just alike, hey, ain’t we dad
I want to do everything you do.
So I’ve been watching you.

We got back home and I went to the barn
I bowed my head and I prayed real hard
Said, “Lord, please help me help my stupid self.”
Just this side of bedtime later that night
Turnin’ on my son’s Scooby-doo nightlight.
He crawled out of bed and he got down on his knees.
He closed his little eyes, folded his little hands
Spoke to God like he was talkin’ to a friend.
And I said, “Son, now where’d you learn to pray like that?”

Chorus:
He said, I’ve been watching you, dad ain’t that cool?
I’m your buckaroo; I want to be like you.
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are.
We like fixin’ things and holding moma’s hand
Yeah, we’re just alike, hey, ain’t we dad.
I want to do everything you do; so I’ve been watching you.

With tears in my eyes I wrapped him in a hug.
Said, “My little bear is growin’ up.”
And he said, “But when I’m big I’ll still know what to do.”

Chorus:
‘cause I’ve been watching you, dad ain’t that cool?
I’m your buckaroo; I want to be like you.
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are.
By then I’ll be strong as superman
We’ll be just alike, hey, won’t we dad
When I can do everything you do.
‘cause I’ve been watchin’ you.

 This is my son’s favorite song… well that and Numb (there is a Lord of the Rings video that goes with it on YouTube featuring Faramir http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHkGnfiLiGo … more on that in a moment)

Both my children have the unusal ability (for children) to articulate their feelings. If they are frustrated or upset they do not act out. They just tell us point blank that they are upset and what they are upset about. I am incredibly lucky in that… cause I can be pretty dang oblivious at times. My son likes this song cause the dad in it isn’t perfect. He looks up to us, but not with blind love… he knows we have faults and we aren’t perfect, but he loves us anyway.

 Numb paints a little bit bleaker of an image. My son identifies with Faramir a little too much for my liking. He wants to please his father(s) but doesn’t feel like he always does.

 He has an rather astounding understanding of LotR, the themes, the concepts, the plot line and how it all works together. He understands Tolkien’s concept of a eucatastrophe. [An event that seems like a catastrophe but which, in the end turns out to be of key importance to a happy ending… Christ’s dying on the cross was the ultimate example for Tolkien of a eucatastrophe. While it seemed The End for the King of the Jews (bad) it was in fact, the event that breached the chasm between Man and God.(good)] He understands the underlying themes, how some relate to the bible, the importance of friendship, sacrifice, persistence…. he Loves it because its all wrapped up in a fanstastical package.

I had a point.

I’ve forgot what it was…

/e wanders off to see what item in a video game my son wanted to show me. I’m likely to get distracted and end up playing a level with him. Pikmin rule.

Leave a Reply

Categories

